TK Era Historical Book Recommendations

Join the Romance of the Three Kingdoms discussion with our resident Scholars. Topics relating to the novel and history are both welcome. Don't forget to check the Forum Rules before posting.
Kongming’s Archives: Romance of the Three Kingdoms
Three Kingdoms Officer Biographies
Three Kingdoms Officer Encyclopedia
Scholars of Shen Zhou Search Tool

TK Era Historical Book Recommendations

Unread postby Wenruo » Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:02 pm

Hello all, newbie here. I have been interested in TK period history for many years and have gotten more into it recently. I’ve played several of the games, watched the 2010 TV series a few times, and am about 2/3rds of the way through the novel. I would like to have a better understanding of what actually happened historically as I read the novel. Are there any recommendations here for a quality English-version historical resource on this period?

Also, I have a separate question on the 1994 TV series. Is that appropriate for this forum or should I pose that elsewhere?

Many thanks in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Wenruo
Tyro

Re: TK Era Historical Book Recommendations

Unread postby DaoLunOfShiji » Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:17 pm

Hey there, glad to see you taking an interest in the historical period. There's no better place to come than here.
As for historical resources Sun Fin through together a fantastic guide to online resources here: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=23535

A few members have also put together their own libraries that people can look into and ask about the books. Some range from free online papers to very expensive novels. You can find these in certain members signatures.

There are various translations projects out there as well, but the three that stand out the most to me are Xuesanguo, or alternatively on threestatesrecords.com, bookofjinand Fuyonggu which you can find all three on on tumblr.