Sun Quan Surrenders, Liu Bei done for?

Join the Romance of the Three Kingdoms discussion with our resident Scholars. Topics relating to the novel and history are both welcome. Don't forget to check the Forum Rules before posting.
Kongming’s Archives: Romance of the Three Kingdoms
Three Kingdoms Officer Biographies
Three Kingdoms Officer Encyclopedia
Scholars of Shen Zhou Search Tool

Sun Quan Surrenders, Liu Bei done for?

Unread postby EmperorWei » Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:44 am

Hi everyone,and although this is my first time here at this Forum,I hope
I can gain more knowledge from scholars like you about RotK. :)

Anyway,I was wondering if Sun Quan reached the conclusion of
surrendering before the Battle of Chibi,and lost to Tsao of Wei. Would Liu Bei be done for?
"I do not fear an army of lions being led by a sheep,but do I fear an army of sheep led by a lion"-Alexander the Great
EmperorWei
Master

Unread postby Fei Yi » Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:38 am

It would seem very likely, because then Cao Cao would be able to gain all of the south lands and Liu Bei would not have Jing as a base. He might be able to seek refuge with Liu Zhang, but I think if Sun Quan Had surrendered, it would only be a matter of a few years before Cao Cao had united China.
All we need to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us... "Gandalf the grey"

Death smiles to us all...., all we can do is smile back... "Marcus Aurelius"

Freedom lies behind the boundries we've created ourselves...
Fei Yi
Sage

Unread postby EmperorWei » Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:29 am

Fei Yi wrote:It would seem very likely, because then Cao Cao would be able to gain all of the south lands and Liu Bei would not have Jing as a base. He might be able to seek refuge with Liu Zhang, but I think if Sun Quan Had surrendered, it would only be a matter of a few years before Cao Cao had united China.

What makes you think Liu Zhang will accept Liu Bei... :?