Planning For Destiny of an Emperor Online

Discussion of other Three Kingdoms games (e.g. Destiny of an Emperor and Dynasty Tactics) and other games by Koei (e.g. Samurai Warriors).

Planning For Destiny of an Emperor Online

Unread postby Bei An Li » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:07 am

I love DOAE1/2's battle systems and such and I might try my luck at making an online version but with a few twists. I'll be using the BYOND engine for it. Since I'm not an adept coder with the BYOND software, it just might start off as a chat room type game where you can still roam around the games map. That being said, I will be deviating a whole lot from the NES titles... Kind of introducing a sequel that's also online. The soundtrack would be DOAE1/2's soundtracks remixed. Instead of 8-Bit I'll sprite out 16-bit graphics that resemble the DOAE style... Now what would be some ideas you guys have? I still haven't beaten 1 or 2 but I want to read some ideas I probably wouldn't figure out. I'll update my progress as I go along. This will be super time consuming but it shall happen.

If you want to know more about BYOND http://wikibin.org/articles/byond.html
Yuan Shao:"Don't pursue Lu Bu!"
Me:"Okay..." (Pursues him anyways)
Bei An Li
Tyro

Re: Planning For Destiny of an Emperor Online

Unread postby Jordan » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:16 am

I remember Byond primarily through games of Incursion and Not Another Generic Space-Age Conquest game, both of which were awesome. I think both of them might not exist anymore, though.

Would this be a co-op type of adventure or a sandbox where players roam around killing each other and capturing officers?
Jordan
Scholar of Shen Zhou

Unread postby Bei An Li » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:22 am