A dissertation...?

Discuss literature (e.g. books, newspapers), educational studies (getting help or opinions on homework or an essay), and philosophy.

A dissertation...?

Unread postby Cloud Strife » Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:28 pm

I have a question for those who know what exactly a dissertation, or more commonly known as a senior thesis, is. I'm just a sophomore in college and I would like to know what it is. Do all senior college students need to do one? And what are the benefits of getting yours approved? If there is any website that talks more about this, please point it out! Thanks for your time.
Hey guys, "Breaking Upwards" has been released at the IFC Center in New York! And at Laemmle Sunset 5 in LA! Come see it this weekend, April 10th-11th, to help it go nationwide! Thanks! http://www.breakingupwards.com
Cloud Strife
Scholar

Re: A dissertation...?

Unread postby Lady Wu » Tue Mar 30, 2010 4:16 am

In the US, a senior thesis is a long research paper you write in your senior year. Some programs require it for graduation, some don't. You usually enroll in a self-study course where you work one-on-one with a professor in the area of interest that you picked, or a small class where everyone is working on a senior project. Some programs require you to do an oral presentation of your paper at the end. Choosing to do a senior thesis when there is a choice can assist you tremendously if you plan to do further research or apply to a graduate program. It's a good piece of work to showcase your ability to do research and write, and graduate programs often require a writing sample or two for admissions.