Graduate School

Discuss literature (e.g. books, newspapers), educational studies (getting help or opinions on homework or an essay), and philosophy.

Graduate School

Unread postby Tonto_Simfish » Sun Jun 17, 2007 7:51 am

Is anyone thinking of doing graduate school (or who is a grad student)? I know Lady Wu used to be a grad student - she suggested me to make this thread. ;)

So anyhow - I'm just a lowly undergrad who wants to go to grad school. No other plans yet though.
Tonto_Simfish
Assistant

Re: Graduate School

Unread postby Kong Wen » Sun Jun 17, 2007 7:56 am

Tonto_Simfish wrote:Is anyone thinking of doing graduate school (or who is a grad student)? I know Lady Wu used to be a grad student - she suggested me to make this thread. ;)

So anyhow - I'm just a lowly undergrad who wants to go to grad school. No other plans yet though.

I'm just a lowly graduate student who wants to go to undergrad school.
"We spread the time as we can, but in the end the world takes it all back."
— Roland Deschain, Wolves of the Calla
Kong Wen
The Bronze Age of SoSZ
The Bronze Age of SoSZ

Unread postby Lady Wu » Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:22 am

Great Deer, who hasn't shown up in years, got a PhD in engineering (and is now working for a government research agency or something?). agga is also a grad student (either almost done or beyond, since he was asking about postdoc grants.

I think you sink lower and lower after undergrad life until you get tenure.

Undergrad: free to take the courses you want; advisors and counsellors around to help you out; student loans not impossible to pay off; not much responsibilities and have time to play; you're a "customer" for the university so the university has to protect you in some way. 4 years. Easy.