The Japanese Language

Discuss literature (e.g. books, newspapers), educational studies (getting help or opinions on homework or an essay), and philosophy.

The Japanese Language

Unread postby Shi Jing Xu » Tue Aug 27, 2002 10:06 pm

Ok guys, I take Japanese at school, and this is my second year of it. So, I was wondering if anyone else took this at their school, and if so, how is it taught?

At my school, they begin with the basic sounding of the vowels: A I U E O. Then, give us simple words like, Ojigi, Hiragana, Kyooto, etc.
East stuff. Then, they begin with the teaching of Hiragana. Then, when we finish that, Katakana. So, anyone else take it, and learn differently in their school? :?:
"As if you could kill time without injuring eternity." ~ Henry David Thoreau
Shi Jing Xu
Hermione G

Unread postby Guest » Wed Aug 28, 2002 4:07 am

Um, I'm planning on taking it very soon at university. I've been teaching myself, however, for about 6 months now. I could probably survive in Japan with my current knowledge. Don't know for sure, though. It seems to me that the way that yours was taught seems natural. First, you must learn the sounds that make up the language. Hiragana would come next, because it is the most widespread form of written language in Japan. Kanji should come second, and then katakana. That's how I think it should be taught, anyhow.

Unread postby animetayl » Wed Aug 28, 2002 4:08 am

Sorry, that last one was me. I wish that someone would not let guests reply until they had registered... :x
animetayl
Sky Bandit

Unread postby lordostrategy » Wed Aug 28, 2002 4:19 am

Nah, thats harsh. I think they add a certain sense of mystery....

Take away their emoticons.
Try this, you Wuists!

"If Wu was truly the greatest Kingdom, then why did Jin work them like a part time job?" -Justin
Want this buried into your skull? WWO ALL THE WAY!
lordostrategy
Scholar of Shen Zhou

Location: Trying to get a lame title from Zhou Dexiang and James... SSSSHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!