This is how I would make a DW, if I was a programmer.

Koei’s Dynasty Warriors game series. Discuss and enjoy!

This is how I would make a DW, if I was a programmer.

Unread postby Butters » Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:23 am

I'm sure there are flaws in my logic here, but there are a few things about the DW series that I think would make it a lot more fun (at least for me). This is how I would build a DW game, if I programmed it. Tell me what you think.

1. I'd do away with damage dealing as the standard for difficulty level. Essentially, a particular enemy on a particular board will have exactly the same level, attack, defense, etc, on easy as he or she will on normal, hard, or chaos. Instead, I'd make the difficulty based on how much of a brain the enemies have. (Your enemies and allies would still be stronger depending on specific board difficulty. For example, your enemies may be level 7 on a level 1 board, like Yellow Turban Rebellion, while they may be level 21 on a level 3 board, like Chi Bi.)

For example, if you fight random general X on a random board on easy, he'll never charge at you and never have an aggressive bone in his body. Basically, he'll stand there and let you kick his ass. On normal, he may charge you and start showing a little bit of attacking and blocking, as well as coordinating with the other surrounding soldiers to attack you. On hard, he will get even more aggressive and start whipping out the crazy moves, as well as call in for reinforcements. When it gets to chaos, he'll stick to you like white on rice and pretty much fight you as if the fate of the universe was riding on it, as well as constantly calling for reinforcements, and making things hellish for your allies, particularly your commander.